Glossary of Terms

NAD Elementary Math Standards: What learners should know (content) and be able to do (skills) in mathematics; these standards reflect the Seventh-day Adventist worldview and serve as the framework for curriculum development across the North American Division. Visit Adventist Education website.

Common Core State Standards (CCSS)
for Mathematical Practice:

Describes varieties of expertise that mathematics educators at all levels should seek to develop in their students; these practices rest on important “processes and proficiencies” with longstanding importance in mathematics education. These mathematical practices were adopted by the NAD as mathematical practices to be used in the Adventist school system. Visit Common Core State Standards Initiative website.


Larger groups of related standards; standards from different domains may sometimes be closely related. Visit Common Core State Standards Initiative website.

The five domains in the NAD Elementary Mathematical Standards are:

1. Numbers and Operations

2. Operations and Algebraic Thinking

3. Measurement

4. Geometry

5. Data Analysis, Statistics, and Probability

Essential Questions:

Questions that are posed to help teachers and students focus on specific mathematical content within the context of the Adventist worldview.

Big Idea:

A statement that demonstrates understanding of specific mathematical content with the context of the Adventist worldview; the “answer” to the correlating Essential Question that should be evident throughout the study of the content.

Visit the Common Core State Standards Initiative website: